Call for Ideas

© Photo Ulf Büschleb, Fraunhofer

Call for ideas: good ideas for better cities!

What does the city of the future look like?

 

We were seeking out new concepts and ideas for revolutionary products, technologies or methods. 

The teams behind the top ten concept sketches submitted are given the opportunity to present their idea to some 400 guests in an elevator pitch on the first night of the conference on November 25, 2015. The top three innovators will also be rewarded with memberships in Fraunhofer’s Morgenstadt innovation network that are worth 25,000 euros.

Meet the top ten projects which will be presented on the conference:

Winner: GreenCitySolutions

Zhengliang Wu (Dresden)

Green City Solutions offers intelligent solutions for environmental services, CleanTech and sustainable urban development that helps provide residents with a healthier, more productive life in future-ready, livable cities. 

Combining state-of-the-art Internet of Things technology with the innate qualities of special moss cultures, the CityTree filters particulate matter, NOand thus large amounts of CO2 equivalents from the air.

Analog information can also be displayed in the form of writing or images on its green surfaces and digital data can be transmitted by adding a QR code, iBeacon or NFC.

Second Place: ParkHere

Sasan Amini (Munich)

ParkHere is a spin-off of the Technical University of Munich. It has developed the world’s first energy autarkic sensor system for smart parking solutions. With the sensor-based real-time data about free parking places they are planning not only to save the urban environment we are living in, but also the nerves of millions of car drivers and inhabitants.

Third Place: Breeze

Robert Heinecke (Hamburg)

Breeze helps cities and companies to create a livable world. Founded in February 2015, this start-up is developing inexpensive environmental sensors and a cloud-based analytics platform for evaluating environmental data. A sensor for determining air quality has already been produced and is currently being used by several customers. It generates recommendations for actions that could improve environmental quality.

Cleverciti

Jan Schulte (Munich)

Cleverciti has developed a cutting-edge smart parking management solution for real-time parking information. The overhead sensor technology can be integrated into street lights and takes the pain out of the daily hassle of finding a parking space. Our solution helps to manage parking efficiently, cost effectively and reduces traffic, too.

Evo-Connect

Nedal E. Yassin (Munich)

With its data hub, Evo-Connect offers a unique combination of security, transparency and comfort. It is a fundamental (infrastructural) requirement for the implementation of intelligent energy management systems through Smart Home, which is expected to increase energy efficiency in the city of the future.

Kappo Bike

Ivan Mora (Chile)

Kappo is a unique mobile social game designed to encourage users to use their bicycles more often by be in contact with their friends and cyclists around the world. It mixed the addictive successful social games features with GPS tracking technology, actually the only way to level up, unlock new virtual equipments and play is riding your real bicycle.

But Kappo it’s more than a game, with all the data collected from citizens we offer cyclists insights and predictive analytics to help cities take better infrastructure decisions, for instance, build new bicycle routes in places that is really necessary based on the local flows and cyclists demand.

Multifactory Value Chain

Lorenza Salati (Italy)

A Multifactory is a revolutionary concept for the production environment in urban contexts. It is a shared working space but it is not an incubator, coworking space, FabLab or makerspace. This is a completely new concept. 

A Multifactory is an “Invisible Factory”, which can be seen as an archipelago of companies that are independent and fully autonomous in every aspect. Yet they can cooperate in such an integrated way as if they were divisions of a single, huge company. This is an idea that is spreading autonomously throughout Europe in cities very different from each other. It is a new, complex system of urban regeneration through the creation of a value chain in urban contexts.

Vertical-Urbanism

Prof. Moritz Fleischmann und Dr. Mark Kammerbauer (Berlin)

We live in a rapidly urbanizing world: By 2050, almost 70 percent of the world’s population will live in cities. As metropolises continue to densify and the average height of buildings reaches ever skyward, high-rise towers will play an integral role in the dynamic evolution of our future urban landscapes. However, this vertical expansion and its currently unresolved relationship to the horizontal plane, poses a new set of challenges.

4ct-application

Thomas Ctibor (Czech Republic)

The idea 4ct [For city] is to create a “virtual company” focused on universal innovative methods of urban development.

4ct aims to connect top, real-life professionals within subject development cases/ fields/ cities in a flexible way, adjusted to the specific projects. Different levels of specialist involvement provide an exchange of experience, information and innovations.

4ct wants to deliver results for both public/ cities and private/ developers, which fully matches the interests of both parties. Oriented towards sustainable solutions, the main benefiter is the city and its users.

Thinkubator

Robert Lichtman (Netherlands)

Ideenwettbewerb

© Foto Ulf Büschleb, Fraunhofer

Call for Ideas: Kreative Köpfe zeigen innovative Ideen für die Städte der Zukunft

Top Ten präsentieren Visionen bei »Ideen-Pitch« - Top Drei winkt Mitgliedschaft im Fraunhofer-Innovationsnetzwerk Morgenstadt

 

Am 25. November präsentierten zehn ausgewählte Teilnehmer unseres Ideenwettbewerbs hochrangigen Vertretern aus Kommunen, Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft die besten Ideen für die Stadt der Zukunft.

Beworben hatten sich rund 50 Start-ups, Städte und Studierende. Die von der Jury ausgewählte Top Ten hat nun die Chance, ihr Konzept an der Abendveranstaltung des Kongresses bei einem »Ideen-Pitch« vor rund 300 Gästen zu präsentieren.

Die drei Bestplatzierten erhielten zudem eine Mitgliedschaft im Fraunhofer-Innovationsnetzwerk Morgenstadt im Wert von 25.000 €. Neben Studierenden und Start-ups waren auch Kommunen, Innovationsagenturen, Kreative sowie kleine und mittlere Unternehmen aufgerufen, neue Konzepte und Ideen für revolutionäre Produkte, Technologien oder Verfahren zu präsentieren. 

Platz 1: GreenCitySolutions

Zhengliang Wu (Dresden)

Green City Solutions bietet intelligente Lösungen in den Bereichen Umweltdienstleistung, CleanTech und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung, um Bewohnern zu einem gesünderen, produktiveren Leben in zukunftsfähigen, lebenswerten Städten zu verhelfen.

Der CityTree kombiniert aktuellste Internet-der-Dinge-Technologie mit der natürlichen Fähigkeit spezieller Mooskulturen, Feinstaub, Stickoxide und dadurch große Mengen an CO2-Äquivalenten aus der Luft zu filtern.

Auf seiner Grünfläche können darüber hinaus analoge Informationen in Form von Schriftzügen und Bildern dargestellt und durch die Implementierung eines QR-Codes von iBeacon oder NFC auch digitale Daten übertragen werden.

Platz 2: ParkHere

Sasan Amini (München)

Parkhere ist ein Spin-off der Technischen Universität München und hat das weltweit erste energieautarke Sensorsystem für smarte Parkplatzlösungen entwickelt. Mit den sensorbasierten Echtzeitdaten sollen nicht nur die urbane Umwelt verbessert, sondern gleichzeitig auch die Nerven von Millionen Autofahrern und Einwohnern geschont werden.

Platz 3: Breeze

Robert Heinecke (Hamburg)

Breeze hilft Städten und Unternehmen, eine lebenswertere Umwelt zu schaffen. Das im Februar 2015 gegründete Start-up entwickelt günstige Umweltsensorik und eine cloudbasierte Analytics-Plattform zur Auswertung der Umweltdaten. Ein Sensor zur Erfassung der Luftqualität wurde bereits fertiggestellt und ist aktuell bei mehreren Kunden im Einsatz. Hieraus werden Handlungsempfehlungen zur Verbesserung der Umweltqualität generiert.

Cleverciti

Jan Schulte (München)

Cleverciti hat eine innovative Managementlösung für cleveres Parken entwickelt, die in Echtzeit Parkinformationen liefert. Die Overhead-Sensortechnologie kann in Straßenlaternen integriert werden und erleichtert die nervenaufreibende tägliche Parkplatzsuche enorm. Unsere Lösung unterstützt ein effizientes, wirtschaftliches Parkmanagement und verringert das Verkehrsaufkommen. 

Evo-Connect

Nedal E. Yassin (München)

Mit seiner Datenzentrale bietet Evo-Connect eine einzigartige Kombination aus Sicherheit, Transparenz und Komfort und erfüllt eine (infrastrukturelle) Grundvoraussetzung für die Einführung intelligenter Energiemanagementsysteme durch Smart Home, das die Energieeffizienz in der Stadt von morgen verbessern soll. 

Kappo Bike

Ivan Mora (Chile)

Kappo ist ein einzigartiges mobiles Social Game. Es wurde entwickelt, um Nutzer stärker zum Fahrradfahren zu bewegen, indem sie in ständigem Kontakt zu ihren Freunden und Radfahrern auf der ganzen Welt stehen. Es verbindet spannende Social Game Features mit GPS Tracking; der einzige Weg, höhere Level und zusätzliche Extras zu erreichen, ist der, Fahrrad zu fahren.

Kappo ist jedoch mehr als nur ein Spiel. Mit den Daten, die durch Kappo gesammelt werden, können tiefgreifende Einblicke in das Leben der Bürger als Radfahrer gegeben und zuverlässige Vorhersagen über das Fahrverhalten getroffen werden. Städte können darauf basierend bessere Entscheidungen bezüglich ihrer Infrastruktur treffen, um das Fahrradfahren zu fördern und den Anforderungen von Radfahrern gerecht zu werden.

Multifactory Value Chain

Lorenza Salati (Italien)

Eine Multifactory ist ein revolutionäres Konzept für eine produktive Umgebung in Städten. Sie ist zwar ein gemeinsamer Arbeitsplatz, aber weder ein Inkubator noch ein Coworking-Bereich, FabLab oder Makerspace und damit ein gänzlich neues Konzept.

Als »unsichtbare Fabrik« besteht eine Multifactory aus einer Gruppe unabhängiger, völlig autonomer Unternehmen, die aber genauso vernetzt zusammenarbeiten können wie die Geschäftsbereiche eines Großunternehmens. Diese Idee ist in den unterschiedlichsten Städten in ganz Europa auf dem Vormarsch und bringt ein neues, komplexes System, das für die Stadterneuerung eine Wertschöpfungskette im städtischen Kontext schafft.

Vertical-Urbanism

Prof. Moritz Fleischmann und Dr. Mark Kammerbauer (Berlin)

Die Urbanisierung schreitet in unserer modernen Welt schnell voran: Bis 2050 werden knapp 70 % der Weltbevölkerung in Städten leben. Metropolen werden immer dichter besiedelt und die durchschnittliche Gebäudehöhe steigt enorm, weshalb Hochhäuser eine integrale Rolle bei der dynamischen Entwicklung unserer künftigen Städtelandschaften spielen werden. Die vertikale Expansion und ihre gegenwärtig unklare Interaktion mit der horizontalen Ebene bringen jedoch gänzlich neue Herausforderungen mit sich. 

4ct-application

Thomas Ctibor (Tschechien)

Hinter 4ct (For city) steckt die Idee, ein „virtuelles Unternehmen“ zu schaffen, das sich auf innovative universelle Methoden der städtischen Entwicklung konzentriert.

4ct zielt darauf ab, die besten Praxisexperten flexibel und unter Berücksichtigung der spezifischen Projekte in Entwicklungsinitiativen und -bereichen sowie in der Stadtentwicklung zusammenzubringen. Durch die unterschiedlich gestaltete Einbindung von Spezialisten können Erfahrungen, Informationen und Innovationen ausgetauscht werden.

4ct möchte sowohl für die Öffentlichkeit und Städte als auch für den Privatsektor und Entwickler Ergebnisse liefern und somit beiden Parteien entgegenkommen. Mit seinem Fokus auf nachhaltige Lösungen werden insbesondere Städte und ihre Bewohner profitieren.

Thinkubator

Robert Lichtman (Niederlande)